When Did I Get Old?

When Did I Get Old?

sea

I was in Miami recently visiting my family. As usual, I hung out most of my time with my 14-year-old nephew. He never leaves my side, seriously.

What I learned from hanging out with my nephew Joel and my brother Jorge (he’s 20) is how old I’ve become. I’m only 31, but when I hear them talk, they use brand new colloquialisms (at least brand new to me) that put me in the awkward position of asking “what that means,” or typically, to keep my mouth shut and keep listening to see if I can figure it out.

Recently, when a viral video made its way online of a kid asking Michael Jordan “what are those?” people shared it, as if that was a big deal. I was more clueless than Jordan. I had no idea that “what are those?” started as a viral video, which then became a meme and is now a “thing” kids now.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not completely clueless. I’m on Instagram, FB, Twitter, LinkedIn and I’ve used, Vine, kik and WhatsApp, but still, it seems that I’m always playing catch up.

I love technology. I grew up when the Internet was a shiny new thing and computers were slow and clunky. However, nowadays technology and the next “big thing” move at nearly the speed of light. You’re only “cool” if you happen to be on a specific App or if you play a certain game.

How do kids keep up with all this stuff?

One night in Miami, my brother was up until 4 a.m. playing WoW (World of Warcraft) while my nephew scrolled through Vine and literally laughed out lout every six seconds. What was I doing? I went t sleep around 1 a.m., of course.

2 thoughts on “When Did I Get Old?

  1. Yup. I hear ya. At one point, I was trying to keep up and finally, when SnapChat became the new thing, I threw my hands up and said, “I’m done! I can’t keep up.” It’s too much, dammit. How the hell does anyone get anything done with 50 MILLION social outlets? Anyway. I’m laughing here because I can totally relate.

    1. I know. As you saw on my latest post, I’m kind of trying out the Vine thing. I love visual effects and video editing, so it’s like a side hobby. If you can’t beat’em, join’em, right?

Leave a Reply

