Graduation!!

Graduation!!

I’ll be graduating this Saturday! For those of you who don’t know me, I got my Associate’s Degree from a community college about a decade ago. I wanted to continue to my studies, but several things impeded my progress, but it was mainly money.

Now, ten years later, and thanks to the support and encouragement of my wife, I will finally get my Bachelor’s degree! She’s certainly kept me going when I wanted to give up and there were MANY times.

But I’m glad I didn’t.

Growing up in Cuba, I would have never thought that I would be graduating from a university in the United States. When my family left Cuba, they did so in order for me and my cousins to have a better life, to have a better future. When my parents allowed me to leave Cuba and come to the United States without them, they did it so that I could live freely and choose what kind of man I wanted to be one day.

I’ll be the first person in my family to graduate from college. To most people that probably doesn’t mean much, but it means a lot to me. It means that their sacrifices paid off. Not that going to college is the only thing that validates their sacrifice. College is not for everyone. But in my case, that’s certainly the best way to honor them.

I plan on writing a longer post on this soon, but anyway, I’m graduating!!

 

Leave a Reply

