Writing Inspiration

Writing Inspiration

I made it to 50 pages in my novel! I’m nowhere near finishing, but it’s an exciting accomplishment. I’m right to the part where I know I’m going to have the most fun. And sometimes that’s the challenging part about writing; being able to write yourself up to the fun parts. Not that the previous pages weren’t fun or important, but it’s just that I’ve been looking forward to this new plot twist for a while.

I won’t be telling you what the novel is about just yet, but just know that it can probably be considered a young adult novel. I say probably because my protagonists are over 18, but they are still young adults, as opposed to adults (like 30 or more in my view). There will be plenty of romance and adventure. Basically, it’s The Fault in our Stars, but without the cancer or Amsterdam, or any of the characters.

For my fellow writers, here’s some encouragement:

“The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.”  – Mark Twain

“Read, read, read. Read everything — trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the master. Read! You’ll absorb it. Then write. If it’s good, you’ll find out. If it’s not, throw it out of the window.”  – William Faulkner

“Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.”  – Anton Checkhov

“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”  – Louis L’Amour

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.” – Ernest Hemingway

Leave a Reply

