Can Christian authors use curse words?

Can Christian authors use curse words?

As an author, I want to make my characters believable. I want them to “talk” like the people around me do. Being a Christian, I don’t like to curse and rarely if ever do, but I do have some Christians friends who occasionally use curse words. They don’t use the “F” word or anything like that, but other curse words, like the “s” word and such. I don’t think that makes them less saved or lesser Christians.

So, here’s the dilemma. As a an author who is Christian, is it okay for you to use curse words in a novel? Although you are the person writing those words, it is technically the character in its reality who is actually doing the cursing.

I don’t know what to think about this yet. How about you?

Leave a Reply

