Gone too soon

Gone too soon

Philip_Seymour_Hoffman_2011

Celebrity is a funny thing. These famous people, whether actors, athletes, presidents, etc., have a way to come in the homes and lives of millions of people and make a connection.

Philip Seymour Hoffman passed away yesterday of a suspected drug overdose. Police found a syringe in his left forearm and two plastic bags nearby with that appeared to be heroin. The passing of any human being is sad and tragic, but especially when it could have been avoided.

I don’t know if Philip Seymour Hoffman was a good father, or son, but I do know that he was a great actor and seemed to be a very humble guy. Despite being a wonderful actor, he wasn’t flashy or presumptuous, which is a rare thing in Hollywood.

So, while I may not know the man that was Philip Seymour Hoffman, I do mourn the fact that I won’t be able to see him in anymore films. At 46, he still had a lot of movies to make. I remember him as the burnt out Rock & Roll writer in Almost Famous. I remember him in one of the best performances by any actor ever in Capote. I remember him as a formidable villain in Mission Impossible III.

I didn’t know Philip personally, and most people reading this blog probably haven’t either, but we still mourn the untimely death of such a talented person, for he was gone too soon.

Some of his films that I enjoyed:

Twister

Almost Famous

Capote

Mission Impossible III

The Ides of March

One thought on “Gone too soon

Leave a Reply

