Remembrance of Books Past

Remembrance of Books Past

I wish that I had, or at least remembered, all of my favorite books of when I was growing up. But since those books stayed in Cuba after I became an exile in the United States almost 20 years ago, all of them are probably lost now.

At least I remember reading “The Mysterious Island” by Jules Verne and completely being drawn to it. Although the language was at times too complex for my 9-year-old mind, I still remember the story and understood most of it. I also read “From the Earth to the Moon” by Verne and a number of other adventure novels. It is no surprise then, that I’m writing an adventure novel and plan to write many more.

My plan is to submit it as an entry for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. I don’t have a lot of time to finish it, and with school, a job and a family, it seems like an impossible task, but I shall give it my best try.

But going back to my favorite books growing up, there was one that I think was called “Myths and Legends.” I remember the cover being blue and it had a picture (or drawing) of the planet earth. This book had wonderful illustrations and amazing collection of well, myths and legends from around the world. It was this book that really sparked my imagination and propelled my desire to become a writer. The book was in Spanish and it was called “Mitos y Leyendas.” I don’t remember the author, which is sad, because all my Amazon searches for this book have proved to be futile.

Leave a Reply

