My Top 5 Movies of 2013

My Top 5 Movies of 2013

Granted, I haven’t seen a lot of the films that came out in 2013, but out of the ones that I have seen, here are my top 5.

#5 – Elysium

Elysium

After watching District 9 I became a fan of director Neill Blomkamp. Elysium is no D9, however, in true Blomkamp fashion, we get a kick-butt sci fi movie with a heart. And as usual, the effects are something out of this world.

#4 – Star Trek: Into Darkness

Star Trek: Into Darkness

I never really saw the original Star Trek series, but when I saw the J.J. Abrams reboot, I was sold. I think Abrams is a very talented director and just an all around a very creative person. Into Darkness has the awesome Benedict Cumberbatch starring and that is reason enough to go watch it.

#3 – World War Z

world_war_z

I was surprised about how much I like this movie. I’ve never read the book, and frankly don’t think I ever will, but this film was really captivating. The acting was superb, and the story, as well as the visual effects kept me at the edge of my seat.

#2 – Captain Phillips

captain-phillips

I think it will be tough for any other male actor to win the Academy Award next year. Tom Hank’s performance in Captain Phillips is something to watch. When I think of what great acting is, I always think of Tom Hanks. He really becomes the character being portrayed. Hands down, one of the best movies in the last decade.

#1 – Hunger Games: Catching Fire

catching_fire

What an amazing movie! Part 1 was incredible, but the sequel takes the story and the acting to a whole new level. The incredible Jennifer Lawrence carries the film on her shoulders like only a legendary actor could. How this girl is only 23 years old and so talented is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

