The World Needs Dreamers

The World Needs Dreamers

I’ll be turning 30 tomorrow. I have a lot of things to be thankful for. I have a loving and beautiful wife, an amazing one-year-old girl and a boy on the way. I also have an amazing family in Miami, as well as other family members in Cuba who love me dearly. And the few friends that I have are pretty awesome as well.

One of my goals was to publish a book before I turned 30. And I sort of did. Although, Waters of Grace is self-published, I believe that it still counts. Of course, my main goal is to get it published by an actual publishing house. To that effect, I’ve been sending query letters to several literary agents. So far, I have gotten one rejection and I’m still waiting to hear from the others.

Ever since I can remember, writing and telling stories have been a huge part of my life. When someone asks me what my dream is, or what my dream profession is, I always tell them a bestselling author. Bestselling because that would afford me the opportunity to do what I love full-time. When most people hear this, I can immediately see their “in your dreams” reaction. I never understood that. Some people never dare to dream big, some people never think that such things are possible. But if every author (or actor, scientist, etc.) believed that it was impossible to achieve their dreams, then we wouldn’t have the C.S. Lewis, the Rowling’s, nor the Garcia Marquez’s of this world. The world needs dreamers.

I have a burning conviction that my dream will come true, that God gave this dream so that I can pursue it and reach millions with stories of hope and change. I don’t know if Waters of Grace will be the book that launches me into the bestseller lis, but I know that there will be one. And on the days when I feel less confident and think I’m a hack and will never make it, my lovely wife convinces me otherwise.

I don’t know what your dream is, but never stop until you accomplish it.

Leave a Reply

