Work It

Work It

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

It is no doubt that we are expected to take care of our bodies. Now, there is a fine line where if one is not careful, vanity and pride can kick in. It’s a good thing to workout, but it’s bad to obsess over your body and looks. But back to the good thing. Being fit (if one is physically able to exercise) should be a priority in our lives. We don’t all have to look like Rambo (that’s just too much), but being active and healthy is important. That’s how we take care of the temple of the Holy Spirit.

I’m writing this post mainly for myself. I need to remind myself of that. I enjoy working out, but it’s been tough to stick to a routine. I would do well for three or four weeks and then something happens and I get off track. Sometimes it has been because of an illness (flu, stomach flu, etc.), but those things only last a few days. It’s just hard to pick it back up after a long interlude.

My wife’s pretty good about motivating me, but I still fail at times, especially in the diet area. You can’t workout and then go eat fast food. This is my fault and it sucks.

All this to say that this is my public commitment to working out. I may not be able to go to the gym five or six times a week, but I can still workout from home. This public commitment will serve as motivation because whenever I feel like giving up, I will remind myself that at least three or four people out there are also counting on me to go on. So, I got my wife’s motivation and healthy meals, plus friends and strangers cheering me on.

The Plan

Today was day one. My goal is of course to get stronger, to mainly bulk up, while at the same time to lose a bit of belly fat. I’m attempting to do this by following Jim Stoppani’s Shortcut to Shred program. It’s a 6-week program, but I will continue afterwards. Now, the days when I can’t go to the gym, I’ll supplement with P90X. The programs are not exactly alike, but they do have many similarities. For instance, if I miss next Monday where in Jim’s program I’m supposed to do chest, triceps and abs, I will do at home a P90X program that targets those muscles. It’s that simple.

So, everyday, I will make a note on this blog saying something about my workout. I plan to workout 5-6 times a week. If I miss a day, please keep me accountable in some way. This kind of reminds me of that blogger who cooked eveyday for a year out of Julia Child’s famous cookbook. That blogger was kind of an awful person (just ask her husband), but her dedication was admirable. So that’s kind of what I’m doing.

My wife always asks me what else she can do to help me keep on and I think this is it. I need order. I need this public commitment.

(Nate we are still on for pizza tomorrow. I’m looking forward to that! But after tomorrow, I will begin changing my food choices.)

You Can Help

Just keep me accountable. Share motivational stuff with me. I joined BodyBuilding.com. You don’t have to follow any of their programs (though they have lots of options). You can just build your own program on there. But if you do want to workout and you need some motivation and stuff, find me on there. This is my profile. I will be updating said page more often with my progress and things like that. Why is my profile name froning12? Well, that leads me to the topic of inspiration:

Inspiration

It’s always good to have role models and people you look up to. Rich Froning not only is a wonderful athlete, but he’s Christian, too. Check this out when you get a chance:

I’m not saying that my goal is to look like Rich Froning, but he’s an inspiration.

Conclusion

Today I did day one from Jim Stopanni’s Shorcut to Shred. Tomorrow I will try to do the second workout, but if my schedule gets hectic, I will definitely do the P90X workout at home. I will let you know tomorrow. I will still continue to post other regular blog posts as this 6-week journey goes on.

2 thoughts on “Work It

  1. SICK! Good luck! Exciting times, when you push beyond your bodies boundaries and reach for a higher ability is the day you become GREAT. I’ll be sure to keep tabs on the progress! Good luck soldier!

  2. I agree with you that we should take better care of ourselves as our bodies are the Lord’s temple. I’m just as guilty as you are about not eating right and exercising. I hope to be better about taking care of myself in the new year. Thanks for the challenge!

Leave a Reply

