The Artist’s Envy

The Artist’s Envy

Maybe this is a common ailment to the human race, but us creative folks have a propensity to be envious. I wish I could say that I’m the most selfless person in the world, but that would make me a liar. Writing is my passion. My dream is to become a bestselling author, not so much for the money, but because I would love to write for a living. So, when I hear about a success story, my first thought isn’t always, “Oh, how wonderful!”

Instead, my first thought is, “Why not me? What does this person have that I don’t have? Are they any better than me?”

This envy then turns to a passive-agressive anger. I’m not mad at the actual person, just mad that it was them and not me.

But what does that say about me? What does that say about me as a believer in Christ? The underlying factor beneath the envy and the anger is that I believe that God doesn’t have enough power to do that in my life. I may not articulate it outright, or even think it, but on reflection, that’s the factor beneath the surface. In essence, I’m telling God that I don’t think He has enough resources to make my dream come true.

But how ridiculous is that? God made everything and everyone, the seen and the unseen, how difficult can anything for Him really be?

God doesn’t owe us anything. He has done enough already. But the amazing thing is that He wants to do more. He delights in pleasing his children. Afterall, it was Him who gave me the ability and the desire to write, it was Him who gave me the passion to be a full-time writer.

So, the next time you feel that someone is taking something that “belongs” to you, just remember to drive out that jealousy with love. Be happy for that person.

Of course, to be genuinely happy for someone’s success, you have to admit the sin of envy and jealousy inside you and repent. Ask God to help you to not only rejoice with others in their success, but to also trust Him with your entire life. That’s the only thing that will work. Get in His word.

“Therefore, putting aside all malice and all guile and hypocrisy and envy and all slander, like newborn babes, long for the pure milk of the word, that by it you may grow in respect to salvation” 2 Peter 2:1-2

Leave a Reply

